Monthly Archives: January 2012

How to Not AutoTweet Every Tweet: When Twitter and LinkedIn Accounts Are Connected

UPDATE 2/26/2012: LinkedIn has removed the Twitter app, but I’m still seeing tweets. Don’t know when this will end, but I’m so looking forward to it.

UPDATE: LinkedIn announced that it is removing the Twitter app on 1/31/2012. Yeaaahh!

I spend more time on LinkedIn than Facebook because it’s all business. But, unfortunately, I have to endure the same types of dreaded updates I see on Facebook: sports trivia, automated motivational quotes, prayers, etc.

Users have their Twitter and LinkedIn accounts connected, and if they take one more step, they can choose which tweets get posted to LinkedIn. All you have to do is add the hashtag #li or #in somewhere in your tweet for the ones you want posted to LinkedIn. You have to change your settings to make this work.

Click image to enlarge

You can set LinkedIn up to only post tweets that are appropriate for the site, and it’s easy. Here’s how to do it.

  1. Sign in to your LinkedIn account, hover your mouse over your name ID, and click Settings.
  2. Under SETTINGS, click Manage your Twitter settings.
  3. Add a Twitter account if you need to).
  4. Tick the box Share only tweets that contain #in. Save changes.

From now on, when you tweet about something that also works for LinkedIn, simply add #in or #li somewhere in the tweet. Your connections will thank you…I know I do.

PEACE.

How to Email a Single Excel Worksheet in a Workbook (with video demo)

If you’ve needed to email a single worksheet out of a workbook, here’s a quicker way to do it instead of saving a copy and deleting what you don’t want to send. This tip works the same in Excel 2010. (I’ve recorded a video demo below.)

1) RIGHT-click on the tab of the worksheet you want to email (if you want to send more than one worksheet, hold down the Ctrl key and click each one).
2) Click Move or Copy
3) Change the To book drop-down to (new book), then tick the Create a copy box, OK.
 
The desired worksheet(s) will now be in a separate workbook. Save (or not) and send via email.
To finish work quicker, you have to learn which button to click! I schedule regular training and will also come to you in person and on the Web. 

Video Demo

ggy Duncan, Personal Productivity Expert

How to Add a YouTube Video to a LinkedIn Update and Have It Play Inside (video demo)

I found a lot of help explaining how to insert a video into my LinkedIn profile via a Google Docs or Slideshare.net presentation. But I couldn’t find anything on how to insert a YouTube video inside a LinkedIn Update (not just a link). Via AutoShare on YouTube, my new uploads get tweeted, and my tweets feed into LinkedIn (via Settings), but I also wanted the option of republishing a video update later.

WAY ONE: When you’re on the video watch page on YouTube, you can click Share, More to expand the options, and choose LinkedIn.

WAY TWO. I recorded a quick video below (after the graphic). The issue was finding the right URL to the video that worked (there are several instances of a video URL on YouTube, but the one in the instruction below is the only one I tried that worked). UPDATE: I’ve gone back and tried the other instances of the URL (browser bar, etc.) and everything worked.

  1. Find the video you want on YouTube, right-click on it, and click Copy video URL.
  2. Go to LinkedIn, create a new update, and click Attach a Link.
  3. Paste the YouTube URL in the Add URL box.
  4. Click Attach, Share

That’s it! See the video demo below if you need more help.

Video Demo

Here’s a video to step you through it. Let me know if you know of a better way or have a question…leave a comment here or on YouTube. Thanks!

 

 

PEACE.

With Facebook’s New Timeline, Check Your Privacy Settings NOW! Non-Friends Can See Your Wall! (with video)

Drop everything you’re doing right now and recheck your Facebook privacy settings. That’s what I did when I realized that people I have no connection to could see my updates and everything else on my personal Facebook page!

I’ll admit that I didn’t pay enough attention to the privacy warnings when the Timeline was introduced. I came to my senses when I was on Mashable.com leaving a comment on an article. I decided to click the link to my profile (on the comment box) to update it. I updated my Mashable profile, but then I noticed a Facebook icon and clicked it. That landed me on my Wall on my personal Facebook page for all the world to see. I was surprised but thought it was because I was logged into Facebook on my computer and figured that was what was going on. Then I clicked on the profiles of commenters I didn’t know, and from there, I was able to repeat the same clicks and landed on their personal Facebook Wall. OMG!

I was so shocked that I had to walk away from my computer to keep from deleting my entire Facebook account.

I don’t want to spend time deciding who can see each update so I made some changes to the defaults. I don’t post anything I wouldn’t want my Friends to see (or the public if it ever got out), but I don’t want to give people outside my network easy access to my personal page.

How to Change Facebook’s Timeline Privacy Settings, Video

I was going to record a video to show you step by step everything I changed, but I found a great one on YouTube and posted it below.

Change Privacy Defaults

  1. Click the drop-down arrow next to Home and click Privacy Settings.
  2. Under Control Your Default Privacy, choose Friends (choose Custom if you want something different).

Limit Audience for Older Posts

I don’t know how long my Wall had been exposed so I opted to limit the audience for my older posts.

  1. Scroll down to the Limit the Audience for Past Posts section, click Manage Past Post Visibility, click Limit Old Posts, Confirm, then Close.
  2. Go to your main profile page. In the Friends section, click See All.
  3. Click the Edit button on the upper right of the screen.
  4. Choose Only Me, and Save Changes.

Apps – Delete All

I’ll no longer sign into other Websites via Facebook. Any apps you use will have access to your data…how much? I’m not sure, but from my understanding, it’s quite a bit.

  1. Click the drop-down arrow next to Home, and click Account Settings.
  2. Click Apps (in the left sidebar). To remove the app, click the x next to Edit, and Remove.

Apps – Change Sharing Activity

On the other hand, you may want to keep the app but limit who can view your activity. For example, if you sign into HuffingPost.com via Facebook and you haven’t set the privacy, your friends will see every article you click on when they’re on the HuffingtonPost site. If this doesn’t set well with you either, change the privacy setting. Continuing from above, when you click Edit, choose Only Me in the App activity privacy section, and Close. Repeat this for each app you want to change.

If you find other changes that need to be made, please let us know by leaving a comment.

Here’s another post I wrote on designing your Timeline cover image using PowerPoint.

 

PEACE.